active disaster quick links

News & Alerts

Disaster Legal Aid 2018 Roundtable Series | August 30: Disaster Recovery and Recoupments

Thursday, August 16, 2018

Please join us on Thursday, August 30 at 4 pm ET | 1 pm PT  | 3 pm CT | 10 am HST | 2 pm MT for this month's roundtable discussion on disaster legal aid. Feel free to share with your networks.

Disaster Legal Aid 2018 Roundtable Series | Disaster Recovery and Recoupments  

Thursday, August 30, 2018, 4:00-5:00 pm ET

To register, click here.

Building on past discussions of sources of disaster recovery funding, this discussion will review what happens when an agency providing that funding believes it has given an individual funding in error. We will discuss the "sequence of delivery" from the Stafford Act, other sources of law on federal agencies' authority to investigate and reclaim alleged disaster recovery assistance overpayments, the ways in which recoupment allegations have played out for survivors of Sandy, and the ways in which differing duplication of benefit policies across agencies and administering entities complicates and frustrates recovery. The goal of this roundtable is to provide a starting point or refresher on recoupment law and policy, and discuss some policy solutions to help simplify, expedite and improve the fairness in individual disaster recovery.

Discussion led by:

  • Jessica Limbacher, Esq.; Staff Attorney, Volunteer Lawyers for Justice
  • Aaron Scheinwald; Acting Director, Storm Response Unit, New York Legal Assistance Group
Topics:

National Disaster Legal Aid

resource center

Disaster Legal Response Resources for Advocates

The National Disaster Legal Aid Advocacy Center welcomes all advocates and volunteers from nonprofit legal aid organizations, bar associations, pro bono counsel from law firms and corporations, law school students and faculty, and allied nonprofits working on disaster legal aid.

The Advocacy Center includes information disaster response initiatives, upcoming events for advocates, developments from the field, and access to a network of over 600 advocates across the country. It is free to join, but some areas are password-protected. The Advocacy Center is maintained by Lone Star Legal Aid, a legal service provider in Texas. 

Learn more about the history and programs behind DisasterLegalAid.org.